Days 23, 24, and 25: On the home stretch

I feel like this is my hail mary week.

Monday (day 23), my department head brought in a box full of munchkins from Dunkin Donuts.

Dunkin. Mother$#%^&*@. Donuts. MUNCHKINS.

Someone else had purchased some girl scout cookies and some coconut and chocolate covered almonds and left them in the breakroom for us, too.

Today (day 25), my boss happily plopped down a box of warm, fresh cookies right in front of my face. I looked at him and sighed a series of cuss words. He laughed maniacally.

Obviously, I work in a great office. What’s not so obvious is that the cliched phrase “Willpower is a muscle that gets stronger with exercise” is totally true. It hurts to walk away from the sugar bombs that I love so much, but it’s far less difficult now than it used to be. I might be giving myself too much credit; chemicals probably have something to do with this, as well. With literally zero refined sugar in my system, the cravings for m0re refined sugar pass so much easier.

Alright, so down to grub.

23

Breakfast: Standard bacon and eggs (with veggies)

Lunch:

I treated myself to Publix salad bar and a banana from the produce department.

pub

….and maybe I had another banana as a snack later.

Dinner: I cooked up homemade creamy tomato soup in about 15 minutes. I couldn’t help feeling all italian and domesticated as I flitted about the garlic scented kitchen. It was a fun meal to cook.

soup

And it was delicious.

Recipe over at Paleo Comfort Foods. My only recommendation is to cut back a bit on the onion. Enjoy!

24

Breakfast:  Smoothie! Ingredients: Strawberries, blackberries, blueberries, almonds, kale, and carrots. Carrots tend to absorb other flavors, in my experience, so add an extra strawberry for taste if you choose to include them.

Lunch: A juicy granny smith apple and vegetable soup leftovers

Dinner: Homemade trailmix of dried unsweetened bananas, raisins, pistachios, and almonds

25

Breakfast: Two peices of bacon, a little fruit, and eggs scrambled with spinach, green peppers, mushrooms, and tomatoes

Lunch: Salad with turkey, spinach, kale, romaine, tomatoes, green peppers, mushrooms, and carrots

Snack: Homemade trailmix

Dinner: We modified our chili recipe by replacing ground beef with ground turkey and stewed tomatoes with tomato paste (we’re improvising!) It came out tasting a lot like sloppy joe mix, except spicy! We kicked it up with extra jalapeno peppers.

chili

Original chili recipe here.

Leave a Reply

