Day 11: Egg “McNothin’s” and beanless chili!

I’ve been slacking on trying out new recipes and cooking food, but these are two recipes that are so so so so good.

Breakfast:

I got this recipe over on Jules’ Fuel. It was so easy to prep late last night and stick in the fridge til morning. I made a few modifications – namely, each ‘mcnothin’ only had about 3/4 of an egg rather than a whole egg (I was running low on lunch meat). I seasoned mine with diced tomatoes, red pepper flakes, salt, pepper, and oregano. They were delicious.

I  recommend using ham over turkey meat. Something about ham and bacon just seems to mesh better with eggs! Mine came out fairly small, so we both ate two for breakfast, but I wish I had accompanied that with some fruit. I was hungry by mid-morning.

Image

 

Lunch:

I ate at my desk, and didn’t feel quite normal taking photos of my food at work. I ate some guacamole with veggies that I had prepped Monday night, a berry salad, and a delicious turkey burger wrapped in lettuce.

I was hungry again later – my coworker graciously offered me an apple. Full on oink mode.

For dinner, we got home and Josh threw some ingredients to the crockpot. Then we hit the pavement for a nice evening run; it was glorious. The weather, that is. The run was weak, but not as weak as I was expecting.

It was such a nice outing though, and by the time we got back, delicious beanless beef chili was simmering in the crockpot.

Image

The recipe we gleamed from online, but made significant changes to.

Ingredients:

1 onion

1 green bell pepper (diced)

1 jalapeno pepper (diced)

4 tbsp chili powder

2 cups stewed tomatoes

2 tablespoons cumin

2 tablespoons paprika

1 pound ground beef

Optional: Add kale or spinach to make it a little healthier.

Josh browned the meat but did not drain it – he just lifted it out of the grease and straight into the crockpot. Then he added everything else, turned the crockpot on high, and we left for about 35 minutes.

It would have been delicious with crackers and sour cream, and will definitely be added to our normal rotation after this Whole 30 is over.

One response to “Day 11: Egg “McNothin’s” and beanless chili!

  1. Pingback: Days 23, 24, and 25: On the home stretch | elizabethclymer

Leave a Reply

