Whole30 Day 4: Holy mother of headaches.

That food hangover I had been waiting for finally found me.

Last night, I stumbled to bed at roughly 9:30. At 11:30, Josh came in to see me half sat-up, reaching/clawing/”pawing” toward the ceiling. I was dreaming there was a neon sign above me (probably reading “You’re gonna fail”) and I was trying to reach it. I later dreamed about pancakes and spaghetti. It was a rough night.

It’s a good thing the snow forced us to work from home today, because at 8:15, two hours after my normal wake-up time, Josh still couldn’t get me out of bed. My head was pounding, my stomach was upset, I was still exhausted, and all I wanted to do was sip water and try to sleep. It felt like I had been on a drinking binge the night before. Apparently my body didn’t know that I was minding my own business eating vegetables last night – or maybe it does know and it wants some damn bourbon. Finally, at 8:45, minutes before I was supposed to be at my computer working, I begrudgingly dragged myself out of bed.

Josh tried to get me to take ibuprofen, but there are ingredients in it that don’t mesh with the Whole30, so no relief for me. I tried to squash the headache with hot tea and lots of water, which helped some. But then, my fluffy little dog came in from the snow all wired from being cold and ran around the house barking and playing. It’s so out of character for the old man that I had to join in (the playing and running, not the barking), which brought the headache/tummy woes back with a vengeance.

Ugh.

Fortunately, I had breakfast all prepped and waiting in the freezer. It was still a little cold when I ate it, which actually was refreshing and relieving.

By the end of the day, I was feeling well enough for a short workout, and after a hot shower I feel good as new.

Breakfast:

Original recipe is once again over on Once a Month Meals – it’s simply blackberries, blueberries, strawberries, bananas, coconut flakes, almonds, and cashews that I cut up, mixed, and froze on Sunday.

Whole30 Breakfast

I opted out of the coconut milk, but might try it next time.

Lunch:

Leftover jalapeno chicken burger, this time wrapped in a lettuce ‘bun’ and served with plantain chips and guacamole. Somewhat closer to my beloved corn chips. I realize this is not a very appetizing photo…but lunch was yummy!

Whole30 Breakfast

Dinner:

Whole 30 Dinner

We fried up a big old omelette with spinach, tomatoes, turkey, ham, and a pinch of paprika/salt/pepper. We snacked on cantaloupe, dates, and nuts before and after.

One response to “Whole30 Day 4: Holy mother of headaches.

  1. Thanks for sharing our recipe! It’s one of our W30 staples!

Leave a Reply

