Whole30 Day Two: Already breaking bad

Okay, so this is technically not allowed on the Whole30 program, so scroll on down if you’re hoping to keep an unsullied opinion of me:

We weighed ourselves this morning, just for kicks and giggles. I know we’re not s’posed to… but I was feeling rebellious.

I’m down 2 lbs; Boyfriend is down 3.

Weight loss isn’t our primary motivation in doing this thing – but if I am being honest here, it is a major factor. We tried to sober ourselves with reminders that it could be water weight (I ate so much cantaloupe yesterday that I seriously doubt it) and that weight fluctuates and blah blah blah. But I think we’re both a little pleasantly surprised.

In general, I woke up feeling good. Not life-changing good, but not “blerrgh I drank too much and ate too much junk” bad either.

This Whole 30 Timeline was a good head’s up for me before I began this thing. It let me know what I should expect. I am feeling really optimistic right now, but I am waiting for the ‘hangover’ and ‘food boredom’ to set in. Until it does, though… I’m down 2 lbs in a day. And I ate a whole, whole lot of food.

Breakfast:

Whole30 Breakfast

Leftover breakfast casserole (see day 1 for recipe) and half an orange. Plus unsweetened tea.

Lunch:

Whole 30 Lunch

(Leftover) Steak salad and fruit salad (prepped yesterday. But just because it looked so perty when I did:

Fruit Saald

Snack:

About 6 oz. of plantain chips (oil and salt)

Whole30 Snack

Josh gave me so much crap for saving these little jars. Joke’s on him!

Dinner:

Whole30 Seared tuna

Seared Tuna and Asparagus

This is stupid quick and easy. That’s partially because the meat is nearly raw. Still…stupid quick. Stupid easy. I went back for a second helping of tuna, not because I was hungry, but because it makes me feel like a great white on Shark Week.

Step 1. Chop the root ends of a bunch of asparagus off.

Step 2. Put some olive oil in a large-ish saucepan and heat. Add asparagus. Salt and pepper to taste. Saute for 6-7 minutes, if you still like them crunchy. Saute a little longer if you like them softer, like Josh did.

Step 3. Generously salt and pepper both sides of a tuna steak.

Step 4. Saute tuna for one minute for each side. No longer. Okay, 2 minutes is good, but any longer and you risk losing flavor and moisture.

Step 5. Sprinkle lemon juice over asparagus. Eat.

Leave a Reply

