Whole 30: Day One & The Week’s Prep

Note: Apologies for the terrible formatting here; I am just to exhausted to engage in the hour-long format battle with WordPress tonight! 

Today is the first day of our whole 30 challenge.

I have mocked the Paleo lifestyle voraciously since the fad’s inception. Yet here I am. My mom was hospitalized twice with mysterious, intense pains in her gut. Doctors have not been able to pinpoint what is causing the pain, and tests have all conclusively shown “….eh…?”So when a friend pointed out that her life was pretty much changed by this 30 day eating plan, I checked it out. I have my own set of issues and the benefits of weeding out foods that trigger problems might be something my body could use.

It’s 30 days for God’s sake, surely I can handle this and if I can do it, Mom can do it.

So.

Here we go. Day one of no alcohol, no chocolate, no sugar, no honey, no dairy, no gluten, no grains, no no no no no.

A whole a lot of no but I am still feeling pretty optimistic about this. Of course, it is day one. They said this would happen.


We started on a Sunday, mercifully, on a day that I actually have a few hours where I am not working. We kicked this thing off with a helluva breakfast casserole. It was fingerlickin’, slap your grandma good. We made six servings so we’re set for the next two days. Recipe and photos below, but for now I will let my dog’s “I want dat” face do the talking for me to convey just how yummy our breakfast was. It was accompanied by unsweetened Darjeeling tea and a half orange a piece.

Begging dog
After breakfast, it was time to get down to business.

My Personal Hell

…is the Dekalb farmers* market. (It’s a farmer’s market in the same way that Wal-Mart is a grocery store) It is both a blessing and a curse, to be honest. It’s a ton of organic/inorganic, local/non-local food, some of it that you may have never seen or heard of before. And it’s super cheap.

Why is that lady smiling?!

Why is that lady smiling?!

But the crowds, sweet Jesus. I don’t mind crowds when everyone is liquored up and enjoying a band play, but when hundreds of people are all impatient, inconsiderate and overwhelmed, it sucks.

I literally practice deep breathing exercises to get through my shopping trips there. But we loaded up for this weeks meal plan, and that’s one less chip on our shoulders.

You can check out our grocery list here. Yup. It’s blurry and there are lipstick stains. My life is a hot mess, and I am attempting to do a whole 30 challenge. I did throw in stuff like dates and plantain chips just for fun because, you know…YOLO.

I couldn’t help clapping my hands and jumping up-and-down in glee as we loaded our hard-won spoils into the trunk of Josh’s car. That day-one optimism thing, I know.

I spent a good hour and a half (at least-I’m not used to being in the kitchen for long periods of time and eventually, time lost all meaning to me) prepping for some of the week’s meals, which was incredibly necessary. My biggest concern is that my wonky schedule will prohibit me from cooking/eating on the plan throughout the weeks to come… we’ll see. My best bet is to plan and prep my face off whenever possible.

And without further ado, the grub:

BREAKFAST:

Whole30 Breakfast Casserole

Originally spotted this on Katrina Runs. Also, Boyfriend-man gets credit for cooking this deliciousness. I was on dish duty!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb of ground pork (original recipe calls for ground pork sausage)
  • 1.5 cups of chopped mushrooms, onions
  • 1/2 cup of shredded spinach leaves
  • 6 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 1 can of chopped green chilies
  • salt, pepper, and dill seasoning.

1. Brown sausage in pan.

2. Beat eggs and water together; mix in chopped vegetables and shredded spinach .

3. Add can of chopped green chilies and seasonings.

4. Add sausage to sprayed 8×8 pan and pour eggs/vegetables evenly on top of sausage.

6. Bake 400* for 40 minutes.

LUNCH:

Whole 30 Lunch

No real kitchen wizardy here: just lunchmeat, sliced tomato with pepper and salt (one of my all-time faves), and fruit salad that I had prepped earlier.

DINNER:

Josh cooked dinner while I was at work, so I got to come home to the delicious smell of grilled squash, sweet potatoes, and steak.

Whole 30 Dinner

Flank Steak on the grill:

No Lawry’s, of course – but Josh seasoned the steak with salt and pepper and seared it. We like ours pretty rare: about 5 minutes on each side is enough to kill off bacteria on the outside, seal in flavor, and keep the meat nice and juicy.

Sweet Potatoes:

These were immaculate. Josh seasoned them with a vinaigrette made from lime juice, olive oil, and cilantro.

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium sized sweet potatoes
  • virgin olive oil
  • salt/pepper
  • For vinaigrette: 1/4 cup or small handful diced fresh cilantro
  • For Vinaigrette: 1 lime 

Peel the sweet potatoes, slice them into 1/4-inch slices. Thinner would likely be better.

Paint them with olive oil, sprinkle on some salt and pepper, and place on a hot grill. Leave on the grill for 10-12 minutes.

Brush slices with vinaigrette, serve, and eat your faces off. 

Grilled Squash:

Ingredients:

  • 4-5 Medium sized yellow squash
  • 1/2 cup virgin olive oil
  • 2 chopped garlic cloves
  • Salt, pepper, desired seasoning (nitrate free!)

To cook the zucchini up the way Josh did, slice it longways: thinner is better – but no thinner than 1/4 inch.

Heat olive oil in a small pan, and add the chopped garlic. Cook over medium heat until the garlic starts to sizzle and become fragrant. Be CAREFUL not to overcook!

Brush the slices of squash with the garlic oil, and season with salt and pepper.

Grill for 8-10 minutes.

One response to “Whole 30: Day One & The Week’s Prep

  1. Pingback: Whole30 Day Two: Already breaking bad | elizabethclymer

Leave a Reply

