Ouch.

Blog originally published on WordPress.com on December 7th, 2010.

My life is dissolving quickly into a series of unfortunate events, but I’m fortunately sort of a masochist so I don’t mind. Misery gives me something to write about, anyway! Nevertheless, misery also kind of sucks a little, so I’ve been trying to pull myself up by my bootstraps: throwing myself into running and clawing my way toward more riding, forcing myself to venture out into the sunlight every now and then, that kind of thing. However, whenever I think I’m on my way out of the hole, life has a tendency to take it’s open palm and slap me back down.

Case in point:

I had several errands to run before class on Monday, so I was running late and walking quickly to make up for lost time. However, the sun was shining, and I was feeling pretty good – I was naively under the impression that things could not possibly get worse, and that’s good news! As I entered the garage beneath the General Classroom Building, my heart sank with despair just a little as I watched a girl try to open the GCB doors and instead found them locked. I was determined not to let this little impasse spiral me into a wailing mess. “No worries,” Stupid cheerful me thought.  “I’ll walk around the service entrance and come in the back way.” 

Wrong.

There must be a reason to install a random metal bracket that sticks up about 3-4 inconspicuous inches in the middle of the sidewalk, right? Can you please enlighten me as to what that reason is, if you know?

As I was busy plastering my brain with happy thoughts, Sneaky Bracket brought me crashing down to reality. And pavement. If you happened to be in GCB around 1:00 pm and felt a minor seismic event taking place underneath you, that was the sound of my optimism going “splat” and my palms and kneecaps skidding across the ground. My sunglasses went flying, my full backpack smacked me in the back of the head, my favorite jeans ripped, and the last shred of forced cheerfulness left my crumpled body and fluttered off into the sky like a freed soul bound for heaven. At least the girl who’d tried to open the door ahead of me had the courtesy to ask if I was okay. Somehow, I squeaked out a “yes, thank you” over the sound of my knees howling in agony. I sat there for a moment, registering life’s cruel irony, gathering my wits and checking my surroundings to see if I’d lost any body parts. I’ll freely admit that I may have spent a few minutes mourning my pants, too.

After a moment, I got back up and hobbled off to class. I wish there was another way around it, but when life smacks you down, no matter how many times, you just have to get back up with your torn pants, skinned palms, and messed up hair to limp your way forward. What else can you do?

3 responses to “Ouch.

  1. I enjoy reading this because, tho this particular incident has not happened to me, I have had similar cumbling life moments. It makes me giggle and I can totally relate abt the pants thing. You are so talented Beth. Your writing is amazing and you should do it more.

Leave a Reply

